Weekly Feature

2017-09-07 / Front Page

Primaries have high turnout from alternative parties

Registered voters in Lancaster and Depew will have an opportunity to choose candidates in a handful of local primary elections on Tuesday, Sept. 12.

Two seats on the Lancaster Town Board are up for reelection, with incumbents John M. Abraham Jr. and Ronald Ruffino Sr. running on the Working Families ticket.

Newcomers Jennifer L. Cappello, Frank Caparaso, Robert E. Leary and Adam L. Dickman will also be vying for the two open seats under the Conservative


Joseph A. Bish and Karen A. DelCarlo will run for Lancaster council seats under the Independence Party.

Dickman and Leary are also running under the Independence and Reform parties.

Newcomer Susan B. Marrano is challenging incumbent Ted Morton for the 8th District seat on the Erie County Legislature for a two-year term; both are on the Conservative ticket. Morton is also running under the Independence and Reform parties.

John Bruso will also be vying for the 8th District under the Working Families Party, as well as Julie A. Bish under the Independence Party.

Victor M. Canastraro II will run for the 8th District under the Green Party.

In the race for county clerk, Independence party voters will choose either Michael Kearns or Krystyna Karstedt in deciding which candidate will represent the party line in the fall elections.

Kearns is also running under the Conservative party line against Daniel J. Stelley Jr.

There will be an opportunity for write-ins when it comes to seats for the Lancaster Town Board, Lancaster Town Superintendent of Highways and Erie County Legislature’s 8th District.

Polls will be open from 6 a.m. to 9 p.m. Tuesday, Sept. 12. For more information and to find a polling location, visit elections.erie.gov.

Return to top